LibGuides: Introduction to Fiber: Home

About this Guide

Welcome!

This guide was created to help MICA students find books, periodicals, articles, DVD's, websites, and other resources for the FIBER curriculum.

If you have questions, please feel free to visit or contact the Decker Library for assistance.

Image information: Tapestry: The Empress Sailing from The Story of the Emperor of China Series, design about 1690; weave about 1697 - 1705, Wool and silk. The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles. Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program.

Quick Links

Decker Library Website
Decker Library Catalog
Research Databases
Online resources such as Art Source, JSTOR and ARTstor.

Formatting and Style Guides

Decker Library Catalog Search

Core Databases

ACM Digital Library
Search publications of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. Some articles are provided full-text for free, and some can be purchased, or you can use Decker Library's Interlibrary Loan service to request resources for delivery to you here at MICA.
Art Source
Covers a broad range of art and architecture subjects, with 600+ full-text journals, 220+ full-text books, and 63,0000+ images.
ARTstor
Digital images of over 1.6 million artworks from many time periods and cultures, with architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. To access from off-campus, visit the ARTstor website and register as a user while on-campus. This allows off-campus access with your user id and password as long as you log-in on-campus every 120 days.
Berg Fashion Library
Searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Indexes and abstracts 500+ design and craft journals published 1973-present, plus data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.
Grove Art / Dictionary of Art / Oxford Art Online
Full-text access to The Dictionary of Art, with content updated periodically. Part of Oxford Art Online, including Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Oxford Companion to Western Art
JSTOR
Full text for scholarly journal articles in art and architecture, education, psychology, business, law, philosophy, history, language and linguistics, and music.
Material ConneXion
This library of advanced, innovative and sustainable materials and processes is a resource for all studio and design disciplines: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Interior Design, Industrial Design and Packaging, Fashion, Textiles, and more.

Search WorldCat

Use this to search for materials not available at Decker Library.

Get Materials from Other Libraries

For questions about interlibrary loan, contact ill@mica.edu. To place an ILL request, use one of the forms below.

Decker Library Hours

Semester Hours

Monday - Thursday
– 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday
– 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Saturday - Sunday
– 12:00 - 6:00 p.m.

Contact Decker Library

Information Desk
410-225-2273
refer@mica.edu

Circulation Desk
410-225-2272
circ@mica.edu

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>