LibGuides: Intellectual History Courses for Humanistic Studies: Philosophy/Sociology/Psychology

Schools of Thought

School of Athens

Raphael

1505

wikimedia commons

Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present the IEP is visited over 950,000 times per month. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide. The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from English-speaking countries.
PhiPapers: Online Research Papaers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. PhilPapers has over 120,000 registered users.

Subject Headings or Terms

Philosophy.

Philosophy, Ancient.

Ethics.

PHILOSOPHY -- Epistemology.

Political science -- Philosophy.

PHILOSOPHY -- Movements -- Humanism.

SCIENCE -- Philosophy & Social Aspects.

PHILOSOPHY -- Political.

PHILOSOPHY -- History & Surveys -- Ancient & Classical.

PHILOSOPHY -- Metaphysics.

PHILOSOPHY -- Mind & Body.

PHILOSOPHY -- History & Surveys -- General.

PHILOSOPHY / Ethics & Moral Philosophy

Social sciences -- Philosophy.

Metaphysics.

Psychology

American Psychological Association
Psychological Research on the Net
Sponsored by the Hanover College Psychology Department

Subject Headings or Terms

PSYCHOLOGY -- Mental Illness.

Psychoanalysis.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Movements -- Psychoanalysis.

MEDICAL -- Mental Health.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Cognitive Psychology.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Neuropsychology.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Psychotherapy -- General.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Social Psychology.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Human Sexuality.

Psychotherapy.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Clinical Psychology.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Psychopathology -- General.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Mental Health.

PSYCHOLOGY -- Personality.

Cognition.

Psychology.

PSYCHOLOGY / Social Psychology

Identity (Psychology)

Learning, Psychology of.

Consciousness.

Social psychology.

Interpersonal relations.

Art -- Psychology.

Child psychology.

Psychotherapy -- methods.

Freud, Sigmund, 1856-1939.

PHILOSOPHY -- Mind & Body.

Identity (Psychology) in literature.

PSYCHOLOGY / Cognitive Psychology

PSYCHOLOGY / Movements / Psychoanalysis

Women -- Psychology.

SOCIAL SCIENCE -- Anthropology -- Cultural.

Psychology, Pathological.

Adolescent psychology.

Sociology

Subject Headings or Terms

CLIMATIC CHANGES
   May be subdivided using DEVELOPING COUNTRIES; ENVIRONMENTAL ASPECTS; FORECASTING; GOVERNMENT POLICY; HISTORY; INTERNATIONAL COOPERATION; MATHEMATICAL MODELS; RESEARCH, etc.
   May be subdivided geographically, e.g., CLIMATIC CHANGES--ANTARCTICA
   See also as subdivision CLIMATIC FACTORS, e.g., BIOLOGICAL DIVERSITY--CLIMATIC FACTORS
GLOBAL WARMING
   See also as subdivision EFFECT OF GLOBAL WARMING ON, e.g., PLANTS--EFFECT OF GLOBAL WARMING ON
ATMOSPHERIC TEMPERATURE
CARBON CYCLE (BIOGEOCHEMISTRY)
CLIMATOLOGY
GLOBAL ENVIRONMENTAL CHANGE
GLOBAL TEMPERATURE CHANGES
GREENHOUSE EFFECT, ATMOSPHERIC
GREENHOUSES GASES

AIR POLLUTION
BIOCLIMATOLOGY
CARBON DIOXIDE MITIGATION
CARBON DIOXIDE SINKS
CARBON SEQUESTRATION
CROPS AND CLIMATE
DESERTIFICATION
DROUGHTS
EMISSIONS TRADING
GREENHOUSE GAS MITIGATION
MEDICAL CLIMATOLOGY
METEOROLOGY
NATURE--EFFECT OF HUMAN BEINGS ON
OZONE LAYER DEPLETION
PALEOCLIMATOLOGY
PLANTS, EFFECT OF GLOBAL WARMING ON
SOIL SALINIZATION
VEGETATION AND CLIMATE
WEATHER

Darwinism

Subject Headings or Terms

Social Darwinism.

Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882.

Evolution (Biology)

Evolution.

SCIENCE -- Life Sciences -- Evolution.

Sociobiology.

Darwin, Charles, 1809-1882 -- Influence.

Human evolution.

Natural selection.

Nature and nurture.

Scientific Revolution / Age of Reason

Subject Headings or Terms

Science -- Philosophy.

Science -- History.

SCIENCE -- Philosophy & Social Aspects.

SCIENCE -- Life Sciences -- Evolution.

Evolution (Biology)

Science and civilization.

Technology -- History.

Enlightenment.

Civilization, Western -- History.

Freethinkers -- United States -- History.

PHILOSOPHY -- History & Surveys -- Modern.

Philosophy, Modern -- 18th century.

Rationalism.

Reason -- History.

SCIENCE -- Philosophy & Social Aspects.

Aristotle.

Art and literature -- History.

Art and philosophy -- History.

Art appreciation.

Intellectual History Courses for Humanistic Studies

My Librarian

Schools of Thought

Philosophy

Subject Headings or Terms

Psychology

Subject Headings or Terms

Sociology

Subject Headings or Terms

More Sociology Links

Darwinism

Subject Headings or Terms

Scientific Revolution / Age of Reason

Subject Headings or Terms