Research Help
Decker Library librarians are here for your research needs
410-225-2273 | refer@mica.edu
General Information
The Access Services staff are here to help with your account, reserves, interlibrary loans, and general questions
410-225-2272 | circ@mica.edu
MICA Archives and Special Collections
Special Collections Librarian Kathy Cowan is available for any archives and special collections-related questions
410-225-2714 | kcowan@mica.edu
Read about why this guide was made in Art is Information, Part 1: Exploring the research methodologies of artists in Beyoncé's 'Lemonade' by Jenny Ferretti.
Guides on How To Cite Your Work
Whether you're writing a paper or creating a work of art, everyone needs to cite their work. Below are links to formatting and style guides.
Academic Citation Resource Guide
This guide is a great place to start if you're unsure about which citation style to use.
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.
Chicago Manual of Style is commonly used by those in literature, history, and the arts. Note: Please log in with your MICA username and password to access the entire Chicago Manual of Style
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
About this Guide
Beyoncé's visual album Lemonade, aired on HBO Saturday, April 23, 2016 for a "one-day event," and is now available for download on iTunes, Amazon; to stream on Tidal, and for purchase on CD. Lemonade is an hour and five minutes of music, poetry, and references to history, literature, and art. There were many artist collaborators and perceived influences included in Lemonade. This guide lists a few places to learn more about them and Beyoncé.
Image: From "Lemonade," by Beyoncé, via Giphy.com
Please note this guide is seldomly updated. The core resources were added in 2016 when Lemonade was released.
This guide was originally made by Jennifer A. Ferretti, Digital Initiatives Librarian at Decker Library, 2015-2021. Please direct questions to refer@mica.edu.
On June 8, 2016 Decker Library (@deckerlibrary) hosted a Twitter chat to discuss 'Lemonade,' #libeyrianship, and what is included on this guide.
See our archived discussion on our Storify.
Background Imag: From "Lemonade," by Beyoncé, Parkwood Entertainment.
#LemonadeSyllabus
Candice Benbow collected "Works Celebrating Black Womanhood" using the hashtag #LemonadeSyllabus, mostly on Twitter. She then published the results on issuu.
Final #LemonadeSyllabus will be out tomorrow and a complete syllabus of all resources will be available for download next week! #Lemonade
— Candice Marie Benbow (@CandiceBenbow) April 28, 2016
Research Help
Decker Library librarians are here for your research needs
410-225-2273 | refer@mica.edu
General Information
The Access Services staff are here to help with your account, reserves, interlibrary loans, and general questions
410-225-2272 | circ@mica.edu
MICA Archives and Special Collections
Special Collections Librarian Kathy Cowan is available for any archives and special collections-related questions
410-225-2714 | kcowan@mica.edu
