Skip to main content

HMST 240 .01Global Perspectives

HMST 240.01

Artstor Collections

Magnum Photos

Artstor is collaborating with Magnum Photos to share approximately 80,000 of the world's most renowned photographs with the educational community. For more than six decades, Magnum's documentary photographers have been chronicling people, events, issues, and personalities, from the Spanish Civil war to Vietnam to the present day. According to Mark Lubell, Managing Director of Magnum's New York office, "The Artstor Digital Library is a wonderful way of providing students and the academic community with access to a selection of Magnum's iconic photographs." Magnum photographers have produced some of the most celebrated and recognizable photographs of the 20th century and contemporary life, documenting an astounding range of subjects, whether industry, society and people, places of interest, politics and news events, or disasters and conflicts. Magnum's roster includes prominent photojournalists such as Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Capa, Eve Arnold, Rene Burri, Elliott Erwitt, Josef Koudelka, Hiroji Kubota, Susan Meiselas, Martin Parr, Alex Webb, and dozens of others. Their photographs have appeared in award-winning publications such as Life,Paris Match, and Picture Post, and their work is included in international museum collections.


Panos Pictures

Panos Pictures is collaborating with Artstor to share 35,000 images of contemporary global affairs in the Digital Library. Panos specializes in documenting critical social issues as well as stories beyond the daily media agenda. From urban development in Turkey, and deforestation of the Amazon rainforest, to detailed photos of extinct and endangered species at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago, the endurance of cyclists in the Tour de Faso, and Charlie Chaplin impersonators in India, the collection covers thousands of compelling stories and issues, soon to be discoverable via the Artstor Digital Library. With more than 100 contributing photographers based across the globe, the Panos archive is one of the most comprehensive visual records of our contemporary world. Images documenting urban and rural communities, diverse landscapes and the built environment, peace and conflict, tell the story of the ties between globalized and localized life.  


Christopher Roy: African Art and Field Photography


Artstor and Christopher D. Roy are sharing 3,500 images of African art and culture in the Digital Library. The collection includes images of art and ceremonial objects, as well as documentation of their social context, use, and manufacture — whether performances employing masks, or techniques used in producing pottery, iron, leather, and weaving.

Since 1970, Roy has been photographing the rural villages and towns of the Bobo, Bwa, Fulani, Lobi, Mossi, and Nuna peoples in West Africa — primarily in Burkina Faso, but also in Ghana, Nigeria, and Niger. Professor Roy has used his field photography to produce numerous educational resources (films, CDs, and DVDs) to support the teaching of African art history and anthropology at high schools, colleges, and universities across the United States.

Other Image Collections

Shared Shelf Commons

 

Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. There is a broad range of collections, including hip hop party fliers, images from China's Cultural Revolution, Southern Farmers' Union archives, interviews with Noam Chomsky, and more.

Browse and search the current collections from subscribing institutions at sscommons.org.


University of British Columbia Museum of Anthropology

 

MOA’s ethnographic objects come from around world, including the South Pacific, Asia, Africa, Europe, and the Americas. The MOA building also holds 535,000 archaeological objects under the care of UBC’s Laboratory of Archaeology.

The ethnological collections are comprised of over 15,000 objects from Asia, almost 12,000 from North America (including over 7,100 from B.C. First Nations), approximately 4,300 from South and Central America, 4,000 from the Pacific islands and over 2,300 are from Africa. Over 6,000 pieces in the collection are textiles from all around the world.

More than 38,000 object records are available online (33,000 with images) via our online collections catalogue (MOA CAT), as well as through the Reciprocal Research Network (RRN).

Find Images

Find Professional Images of Art, Archival Materials, and More
Please note the rights and copyright statements for any image you reuse and be sure to cite your sources.

Note: The databases that include "(@Decker Library)" might ask for your MICA username and password.

Artstor Digital Library (@Decker Library)

Artstor contains nearly two million digital images of works of art from many time periods and cultures. Here you'll find images of architecture, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. New to Artstor? Register on campus first, after which you'll be able to access this database anywhere off campus - as long as you log in on campus every 120 days. Questions? Contact us for help.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA is a public portal that provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection from libraries, archives, and museums of millions of items, including searching by timeline, map, format, subject, and project partner.

Europeana

Europeana, also a public image portal, helps cultural institutions around Europe share their digital collections with a wider audience.

Flickr: The Commons

The Commons, a public image database, launched in 2008 when Flickr teamed up with Library of Congress. It now has an overwhelming amount of partners who have contributed to the project, including libraries, archives, and museums. Anyone with an account can view, download, and tag an image.

Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons is a database containing millions of media files to which anyone can contribute. 

Oxford Art Online (@Decker Library)

Oxford Art Online is available through Decker Library and comprises of Grove Art Online, the Benezil, Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as other articles and bibliographies.

Credo Reference (@Decker Library)

Credo Reference contains hundreds of reference books, searches include images.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter