Skip to main content

Decker Library Zine Collection

Research Guide about Decker Library Zine Collection and Zines

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, ebooks, periodicals, film and video collections (including streaming videos), Masters theses, artists' books, and much more. Note: This will take you to the library website.

Finding Zines and MICA Sequential Arts Club in Decker Library Catalog

How to find Zines and MICA Sequential Arts Club in the Decker Library Catalog

  1. Go to Decker Library catalog: mica.edu/library
  2. Use the drop down menu under "Everything" select "Zines Search" zine search

  3. In search box: MICA Sequential Arts Club Search for MICA Sequential Arts Club

  4. Click here to search Zines only: Zine collection

  5. Click on the Link of Maryland Institute College of Art, Sequential Arts Club - in the AUTHOR field to get all the publications (if you click on this link you may have to sign in with your MICA login)

Call Numbers for Books ABOUT Zines

Z285.5

PN4878.3

ZINES

Zines are non-circulating and are located at the top of the library's stairs.  Their call numbers are just ZINES. There are more student and alum zines in the MICA Archives, Decker Library's special collections. You are welcome to browse the zines at the top of the stairs. For works in the archives, please ask at the Access Services desk to assistance in viewing those materials.

Journals

To find articles about Sequential Arts, Zines, Comics, and Graphic Novels, go to the Find Articles on the Library web page.

Click on A-to-Z Publication finder.

Or go to Academic Search 

If off campus sign in with your MICA Credentials


Journal Titles:

Broken Pencil available in Print from Fall 2011 - present

Studies in Comics available through Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) from 2010

Studies in Popular Culture available through JStor 1977-2016

Comics Reporter is writer & editor Tom Spurgeon's website, featuring news, history, updates, profiles, and other  information on the world of comics and graphic novels.


 The Comics Journal is a news site published by Fantagraphics Books.

Decker Library has: Print Holdings no. 280 (Jan. 2007) - no. 302 (Jan. 2013)

 

 International Journal of Comic Art 

 Decker Library has access through Art & Architecture Source 10/2005 -10/2010

 

 

 

 

Sane  SANE journal: Sequential art narrative in education

 Free part of EBSCO open access journals

 Full-text from 2010

 

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter