Skip to main content

AH 459 Fall 2016 Art, Architecture, and Ideology Under Dictatorship

This seminar will examine the visual culture of Fascist Italy, Nazi Germany, and Stalinist Russia with a view toward how totalitarian regimes do (and do not) shape visual culture. Before beginning embarking on our three case studies, we will review worki

Books

These books are available at Decker Library on Reserve. For a full list of readings, please consult Moodle. Scroll down to access more online resources for your research!

Web Resources

German History Documents and Images

German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. The materials are presented in ten sections, which have been compiled by leading scholars. All of the materials can be used free of charge for teaching, research, and related purposes; the site is strictly intended for individual, non-commercial use.

Nazi and German Propaganda Archive Propaganda was central to Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic. The German Propaganda Archive includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. The goal is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to the primary material. 

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, ebooks, periodicals, film and video collections (including streaming videos), Masters theses, artists' books, and much more. Note: This will take you to the library website.

Find More with WorldCat.org

WorldCat.org is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby. Find books, music, videos, audiobooks, research articles and more.

If you find materials held at another library, Decker Library could potentially request the item be given to us through interlibrary loan. The interlibrary loan service is done online, with most materials available in 1-2 weeks.

Core Research Databases - Find Articles

Core Research Databases - Find Articles
Below is an abbreviated list of research databases offered through Decker Library. These research databases offer articles, images, and data. To see more databases, take a look at the full list on our site. Your local public library card will grant you access to other databases as well.

Note: These databases are made available through Decker Library. You might be asked to login with your MICA username and password.

Find Articles with Google Scholar

Google Scholar

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the wrold of scholarly research.

Integration with Decker Library

Decker Library participates in Google's "Library Links" program -- a service which will add full-text links to Google search results and provide you with direct access to library resources. Enabling this service is easy -- after logging in to your MICA email, access Google Scholar, click the Settings button, then select "Library Links." You should see Maryland Institute College of Art as an option.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter