Skip to main content

AH 459 Fall 2016 Art, Architecture, and Ideology Under Dictatorship

This seminar will examine the visual culture of Fascist Italy, Nazi Germany, and Stalinist Russia with a view toward how totalitarian regimes do (and do not) shape visual culture. Before beginning embarking on our three case studies, we will review worki

About Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums

This page consists of collections from Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums (GLAMs) that specialize in imagery and ephemera related to political proganda or iconography, World War I and World War II, and other related subject matter.

Gallery, Library, Archive and Museum Collections

Enoch Pratt Free Library

Enoch Pratt

Enoch Pratt Free Library has a collection of over 1,000 posters from the World War I and II era. Many of these are digitized and available online, but you can also make an appointment to view the collection at Pratt. One of the major benefits of this collection is that it's local and public!


Wolfsonian-FIU

wolfsonian

The Wolfsonian Museum at Florida International University holds an impressive collection of war and political propaganda. Items in this category range widely from posters, postcards, sheet music, and medallions to paintings and sculpture.


Hagley Digital Archives

Hagley 2

The Hagley Digital Archives offer a trove of archival content, from photographs to documents. A search for "propaganda," for example, brings up World War II posters and documentation.


Smithsonian Online Virtual Archive

smithsonian

The Smithsonian's Museums, Libraries and Archives hold lots of content available on site, like their poster collection. But, they also have a growing digital collection worth exploring.


The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

dpla

The DPLA aggregates open access, digitized library and archival holdings from around the United States. A search for "propaganda" will bring up text and image results from university, library and museum collections across the country. Be sure to refine your search by subject, where you can select subject headings like "World War, 1914-1918 -- Propaganda" or "World War, 1939-1945. Great Britain. Posters.," for example. It's also worth checking out the exhibits, like this one on America during World War II.


Shared Shelf Commons

Shared Shelf Commons is an open access database of images from library special collections. A search for "propaganda," for example, will bring you posters from special collections at institutions like Trinity College and Bucknell University. You can also access Cornell University's archive of Obama Visual Iconography.


Art Institute of Chicago Windows on the War exhibit

Seventy years ago, in the immediate aftermath of the German invasion of the Soviet Union, a group of artists and writers in Moscow joined forces under the auspices of the TASS News Agency to help reassure and rouse the Soviet citizenry by producing large-scale posters—TASS Windows. Exhibit at the AIC July 31–October 23, 2011 (catalog book of exhibit is in the library collection).


University of Maryland Libraries Special Collections

The collection contains the records of the Maryland Work Projects Administration (WPA) as well as those of the Maryland Emergency Relief Administration (MERA) and the Civil Works Administration (CWA), its immediate predecessors. The WPA represented a shift from direct relief to work relief. The administrative records include bulletins, memoranda, policies, and procedures, as well as financial records and salary schedules. The collection also documents many WPA projects, most importantly the Maryland Federal Writers' Project. The collection also contains a large number of photographs from all three administrations.


MOMA, 1997 This exhibition comprises approximately 100 works, including 65 film and political posters, design sketches for the posters, journals, and stage and costume designs, as well as a small selection of the Stenbergs' early Constructivist experiments. It is the largest museum exhibition to date devoted to the work of an individual or collaborative team of graphic designers.


SMITHSONIAN AMERICAN ART MUSEUM 1934: A NEW DEAL FOR ARTISTS EXHIBITION


1934: A New Deal for Artists celebrates the 75th anniversary of the Public Works of Art Program by drawing on the Smithsonian American Art Museum's unparalleled collection of vibrant artworks created for the program.

Find Images

Find Professional Images of Art, Archival Materials, and More
Please note the rights and copyright statements for any image you reuse and be sure to cite your sources.

Note: The databases that include "(@Decker Library)" might ask for your MICA username and password.

Artstor Digital Library (@Decker Library)

Artstor contains nearly two million digital images of works of art from many time periods and cultures. Here you'll find images of architecture, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. New to Artstor? Register on campus first, after which you'll be able to access this database anywhere off campus - as long as you log in on campus every 120 days. Questions? Contact us for help.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA is a public portal that provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection from libraries, archives, and museums of millions of items, including searching by timeline, map, format, subject, and project partner.

Europeana

Europeana, also a public image portal, helps cultural institutions around Europe share their digital collections with a wider audience.

Flickr: The Commons

The Commons, a public image database, launched in 2008 when Flickr teamed up with Library of Congress. It now has an overwhelming amount of partners who have contributed to the project, including libraries, archives, and museums. Anyone with an account can view, download, and tag an image.

Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons is a database containing millions of media files to which anyone can contribute. 

Oxford Art Online (@Decker Library)

Oxford Art Online is available through Decker Library and comprises of Grove Art Online, the Benezil, Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as other articles and bibliographies.

Credo Reference (@Decker Library)

Credo Reference contains hundreds of reference books, searches include images.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter