Skip to main content

AH 459 Fall 2016 Art, Architecture, and Ideology Under Dictatorship

This seminar will examine the visual culture of Fascist Italy, Nazi Germany, and Stalinist Russia with a view toward how totalitarian regimes do (and do not) shape visual culture. Before beginning embarking on our three case studies, we will review worki

About World's Fairs

This page consists of information about various World's Fairs, and especially those around the two World Wars. Below this box you'll find helpful search terms for database searching and searching in our library catalogue. Below that, you'll find a list of online resources where you can find images, streaming video, and documents related to World's Fairs.

Search Terms

  • World's Fair
  • Exposition universelle (1900 : Paris, France)
  • Century of Progress International Exposition (1933-1934 : Chicago, Ill.)
  • Wereldtentoonstelling voor Kolonie╠łn, Zeevaart en Vlaamsche Kunst (1930 : Antwerp, Belgium)
  • On the Web

    The Internet Archive

    Internet Archive

    Searching for "World's Fair" in the Internet Archive will yield home movies, oral histories, and articles related to various World's Fairs. Many of the content is in the public domain, although some remains under copyright.


    New York Public Library, Archives and Manuscripts

    NYPL

    NYPL holds the records from the New York World's Fair from 1939 and 1940. You can make an appointment to view the collection, but portions of it have been digitized and made available online.


    University of Maryland Digital Collections

    UMD

    University of Maryland holds a digital archive of information related to the art and architecture of World's Fairs. The holdings include plans, maps, photo documentation, and more.


    Time Magazine

    A brief overview of the history of World's Fairs, 1851-2010.

    Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

    Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

    Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter