Skip to main content

Information Visualization Research

A guide to resources for the Masters of Information Visualization program at MICA.

Find Images

Find Professional Images of Art, Archival Materials, and More
Please note the rights and copyright statements for any image you reuse and be sure to cite your sources.

Note: The databases that include "(@Decker Library)" might ask for your MICA username and password.

Artstor Digital Library (@Decker Library)

Artstor contains nearly two million digital images of works of art from many time periods and cultures. Here you'll find images of architecture, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. New to Artstor? Register on campus first, after which you'll be able to access this database anywhere off campus - as long as you log in on campus every 120 days. Questions? Contact us for help.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA is a public portal that provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection from libraries, archives, and museums of millions of items, including searching by timeline, map, format, subject, and project partner.

Europeana

Europeana, also a public image portal, helps cultural institutions around Europe share their digital collections with a wider audience.

Flickr: The Commons

The Commons, a public image database, launched in 2008 when Flickr teamed up with Library of Congress. It now has an overwhelming amount of partners who have contributed to the project, including libraries, archives, and museums. Anyone with an account can view, download, and tag an image.

Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons is a database containing millions of media files to which anyone can contribute. 

Oxford Art Online (@Decker Library)

Oxford Art Online is available through Decker Library and comprises of Grove Art Online, the Benezil, Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as other articles and bibliographies.

Credo Reference (@Decker Library)

Credo Reference contains hundreds of reference books, searches include images.

Questions? Contact Us!


Research Help
Decker Library librarians are here for your research needs
410-225-2273 | refer@mica.edu


General Information
The Circulation staff are here to help with your account, reserves, interlibrary loans, and general questions
410-225-2272 | circ@mica.edu

Archives icon
MICA Archives and Special Collections
Special Collections Librarian Kathy Cowan is available for any archives and special collections-related questions
410-225-2714 | kcowan@mica.edu

 

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter