A guide for research into the history of fiber and textile arts, fashion, and related technologies. This guide is a starting point for your research. If you have additional questions talk to your professor or contact the librarian for this department.
Digital images of over 1.6 million artworks from many time periods and cultures, with architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Register to download images, and to access from off-campus
Provides more than 3 million rights-cleared images from over 50 collections, including Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, Oxford Scientific, and others.
Chazelles sur Lyon was once the center of production for de luxe hair felt hats. Since 1976 only one factory has remained in production. The Hat Making Museum collections include all types of hats for women and men from 1850 to contemporary times, including some young designers. Archives are open to students and professionals.
The women's dress collection is the most requested area of the Collection for exhibition and behind-the-scenes viewing. This site currently shows over 70 of these dresses that have been photographed at various times.
Another town with historic links to the hatting industry. Demonstrations, displays, educational activities. Resident milliner and textile designer. Displays cover the hat from the early 1800's to catwalk fashions of the 21st century.
Provides high quality images of all kinds of art, which are downloadable for educational use. All the artworks are categorized with over 1,000 characteristics, including art historical movements, subject matter, and formal qualities. Just a great site to explore all kinds of stuff, visually! or search with keywords.
Inventables.com sells equipment and supplies in small quantities for purchase with a credit card. Selection includes 30,000+ products for use by students, custom manufacturers, product designers, researchers, artists, and inventors.
Digital library offering books on decorative art with particular strengths in costume history, handicrafts, and textile design. Collection spans years 550 to the 1970s. Includes French textile manufacturers’ sample books; treatises on textile production; dye manufacturers’ formula books; and bound sets of fashion plates, the majority of these Parisian. Sketchbooks of kimono patterns and textile sample books offer examples of traditional Japanese textile design. Also of note is a rare collection of sixteenth-, seventeenth-, and eighteenth-century weavers’ pattern books, including several early editions of Nathanael Lumscher’s Weber Kunst- und Bild-Buch.