Skip to main content

Illustration

Research Guide for Illustration

Journals

To find articles about Illustration, Sequential Arts, Zines, Comics, and Graphic Novels, go to the Find Articles on the Library web page.

Index for journals and magazines available in print at the library or in full-text (aka the entire article) online. Includes ebooks.    Full-Text Finder

Or go to Academic Search 

Or go to Art & Architecture

If off campus sign in with your MICA Credentials


Journal Titles:

 Hi-Fructose Magazine Print holdings v.24 (2012) - present

Illustration Art & Architecture Source 04/15/2006 - present

3x3: The Magazine of Contemporary Illustration Art & Architecture Source 09/01/2012 - present

The Looking Glass: New Perspectives on Children's BooksEBSCO Open Access Journals 01/01/1999 - present

Broken Pencil available in Print from Fall 2011 - present

Studies in Comics available through Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) from 2010

Studies in Popular Culture available through JStor 1977-2016

Comics Reporter is writer & editor Tom Spurgeon's website, featuring news, history, updates, profiles, and other  information on the world of comics and graphic novels.


 The Comics Journal is a news site published by Fantagraphics Books.

Decker Library has: Print Holdings no. 280 (Jan. 2007) - no. 302 (Jan. 2013)

International Journal of Comic Art  Decker Library has access through Art & Architecture Source 10/2005 -10/2010

Sane  SANE journal: Sequential art narrative in education

 Free part of EBSCO open access journals

 Full-text from 2010

 

Core Research Databases - Find Articles

Core Research Databases - Find Articles
Below is an abbreviated list of research databases offered through Decker Library. These research databases offer articles, images, and data. To see more databases, take a look at the full list on our site. Your local public library card will grant you access to other databases as well.

Note: These databases are made available through Decker Library. You might be asked to login with your MICA username and password.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter