Skip to main content

Illustration: Project Research

Special Collections at Decker Library

Book Arts Catalog A teaching collection of 600+ items is available for study by individuals and class groups. These materials are located in the library's Special Collections area. To view them in person please see a librarian for assistance.

Codex espangliensis: from Columbus to the border patrol by Guillermo Gómez-Peña and Enrique Chagoya

 

See the Decker Library Tumblr for other examples from the Library's special collections. All are available to view in the Library by request at the Information Desk.

Quick Links

Design By the Book - Video Series

For this series, the New York Public Library partnered with the design blog Design*Sponge to invite five NYC–based artists to create works based upon visual materials from the library collections. The artists range from a glassblower to a letterpress printer, and all created unique works inspired by what they found with the help of Librarian Jessica Pigza. Each episode is under 10 minutes long.

Design by the Book - Series overview

Episode One - The 5 artists are introduced by Grace Bonney of Design Sponge and discuss their interests

Episode Two - The artists visit the NYPL to meet with Librarian Jessica Pigza to review materials she selected based upon their interests

Episode Three - Grace Bonney visits the artists in their studios to see work-in-progress

Episode Four - The Reveal - Grace Bonney visits artists to see works made based upon library materials

We're here to help you!

Research assistance is available whenever the Library is open -- in person, by phone, or by email -- for studio or academic work.

  • Stop by the Information Desk on the lower level
  • Phone (410) 225-2273

You are always welcome to set up a one-on-one appointment with a Librarian for research assistance. Don't be shy -- get in touch!

Library of Congress Call Numbers

A - General Works (e.g. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, or Museum Studies)

AM - Museums; Collectors and Collecting

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

C - History, Archaeology, Genealogy, General Biography,Heraldry

D - World History

E - F - History of America and Canada

G - Geography, Anthropology, Environment, Dancing, Sports, Games

H - Social Sciences, Sociology, Economics, Business (Logos)

HQ - Sexuality, Gender Studies, Women

J - Political Science

K - Law

L - Education

M - Music, Books on Music and Musicians

N - Fine Arts, Visual Arts

NA - Architecture

NB - Sculpture

NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration

ND - Painting

NE - Print Media

NK - Decorative Arts

NX - Arts in General

P - Language, Literature, Theater, Movies, Television

PN - Cinema, Comics, Graphic Novels

PZ - Children’s Books

Q - Science, Natural Sciences, Math, Astronomy, Life Sciences, Biology, Human Anatomy

R - Medicine

S - Agriculture, Landscape, Gardens

T - Technology, Photography, Film, Cookbooks

TR - Photography

TT - Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts

TX - Cooking and Cookbooks

U - Military Science

V - Naval Science

Z - Bibliography (includes Typography), Writing, Paleography

Contact Decker Library

Information Desk
410-225-2273
refer@mica.edu

Circulation Desk
410-225-2272
circ@mica.edu

 

 

 

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter