Skip to main content

Library Research for International Students: Library Language

Compiles some basic information to assist international students in doing research at MICA's Decker Library.

Web Resources

We're here to help you!

First-year International Students are linked with a Research Advisor -- a MICA Librarian who can help them get oriented to the resources and assist with specific projects; email to get in touch. More information...

Research assistance is available to all students whenever the Library is open -- in person, by phone, or by email -- for studio or academic work.

  • Stop by the Information Desk on the lower level
  • Phone (410) 225-2273

You are always welcome to set up a one-on-one appointment with a Librarian for research assistance. Don't be shy -- get in touch!

Decker Library Hours

Semester Hours

Monday - Thursday
– 8:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday
– 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Saturday - Sunday
– 12:00 - 6:00 p.m.

Databases with Language Translation

The EBSCO and Proquest databases include the following language translation features:
 
- Change the language of the searching interface, as shown below.
 
- Translate a full text article or abstract to specified languages. This is a machine translation which can provide a general sense of the article's content.
 
Proquest provides the following disclaimer about the feature: You have requested "on-the-fly" machine translation of selected content from our databases. This functionality is provided solely for your convenience and is in no way intended to replace human translation.

EBSCO Interface Languages
 
EBSCO Languages
 
EBSCO databases include:
 
Academic Search Premier - Search
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text for 4500 journals, indexing for 8000+. Includes art, education, literature, language, linguistics, social and ethnic studies, computer sciences, engineering, chemistry, physics, and many more.
 
Artsource - Search
Covers a broad range of art and architecture subjects, with 600+ full-text journals, 220+ full-text books, and 63,0000+ images.
 
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - Search
Indexes the current literature of architecture & design, covering international, scholarly & popular periodical literature.

Proquest Interface Languages
 
Proquest Languages
 
Proquest databases include:
 
Education Journals - Search
Full-text for 400 education journals, indexing/abstracting for more than 600.
 
National Newspapers - Search
All full-text online - this link searches all titles simultaneously:
 Baltimore Sun - 1990-current
 Christian Science Monitor - 1988-current
 New York Times - 1980-current
 Wall Street Journal - 1984-current
 Washington Post - 1988-current
 
Design and Applied Arts Index - Search
Indexes and abstracts 500+ design and craft journals published 1973-present, plus data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.

Library of Congress Book Organization

Library of Congress Call Numbers are arranged alphabetically and numerically. Read Call Numbers from left to right, and from top to bottom.

Letters in the first line of the Call Number are alphabetical:

 D53
 .E476
 1990
 H155
 .A5
 1944
 HA21
 .A33
 1982
 HM13
 .S47
 1990


Numbers in the first line of the Call Number are in numerical order:

 D53
 .E476
 1990
 D785
 .L44
 M67
 1991
 D1201
 .B44
 W64
 1997
 D1246
 .R66
 1986


Letters in the second line are alphabetical:

 D53
 .E476
 1990
 D53
 .G538
 1989
 D53
 .R795
 1995
 D53
 .T38
 1989


Numbers in the second line of the Call Number are in decimal order. It is important to remember that there is an “invisible” decimal point between the letter and the number:

 D53
 .E476
 1990
 D53
 .E48
 1971
 D53
 .E483
 1976
 D53
 .E49
 1996


There may be a third line of letters and numbers--these will also be in alphabetical and decimal number order.

The last line of a call number may be a year. This indicates the publication date.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter