Skip to main content

Animation

Research Guide for Animation students

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, ebooks, periodicals, film and video collections (including streaming videos), Masters theses, artists' books, and much more. Note: This will take you to the library website.

Search Terms & Call Numbers (where to find books)

Click the button to access a search of the library catalog of Animation (Cinematography)

Library Catalog search Animation

 

  • Helpful Call Numbers:
  • NC1765 to NC1766
  • PN1992.8 to PN1992.92
  • TR897.5 to TR897.7
  • Some Helpful Search Terms:
  • Animated films
  • Animated films--United States.
  • Animation (Cinematography)
  • Animators
  • Computer Animation
  • Animated films--United States.
  • Caricatures and cartoons--United States.
  • Animated television programs
  • Animated videos
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--History.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Japan.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Japan--Art and the war.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Japan--History.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Japan--Themes, motives--Exhibitions.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Social aspects--Japan.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Technique.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Technological innovations.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--United States.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--United States--Exhibitions.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--United States--History.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--United States--History--20th century.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--United States--History and criticism.
  • Animation (Cinematography)--Vocational guidance.
  • Pixar (Firm)
  • Dreamworks Pictures.
  • Walt Disney Company.

Looking for DVDs and Streaming Video

Finding DVDs and Streaming Video

Find DVDs in the Decker Library Catalog

Use drop down menu to select Film and Video Collection and then enter a search term (animation for example)

Put in search terms

Use Author field for Author, Company, or Streaming Video Service

Use subject headings in a record to do new search with those terms

Use the Facets on the Left Side of the Page to Narrow do a search > Select Subject Headings or Genre

 

Watching Films Online via Decker Library

Decker Library offers two streaming video databases for you to watch films online, on and off-campus. Also included are a couple links to other online streaming platforms.

Kanopy @ MICA

Best for: documentaries, feature films, Criterion Collection. Kanopy offers a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. If off-campus, you'll have to create a login to watch films. Featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.

 

Alexander Street Press @ MICA

Best for: clips of art and architecture.  Decker Library subscribes to the Alexander Street Press Art & Architecture in Video collection, which contains over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context for critical analysis.


Other Ways to Watch Films Online

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive

This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Fandor Edu

Fandor, online streaming database, is now offering Fandor Edu. The program has been created in response to the increasing demand from professors to incorporate Fandor into their school curricula. Fandor edu will launch with a 50% discount offer on monthly subscriptions to students and educators at higher education institutions in the U.S. and Canada.

Streaming Video

Search Kanopy Stream Video for films about Animation and Animated Movies

Go to the Find Articles web page - locate Kanopy and start searching (if off-campus - sign in with your MICA login and password)

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter