Skip to main content

Hoffberger School of Painting

Special Collections at Decker Library

 page from Codex Espangliensis: From Columbus to the Border Patrol
Page from 
Codex Espangliensis: From Columbus to the Border Patrol (N7433.4 .G68 C64 1998 Special Collections)
Performance texts by Guillermo Gómez-Peña; collage images by Enrique Chagoya.

Browse or search the Book Arts Catalog for over 750 artists' books in our collection.

Follow the Decker Library Tumblr for selections from the Library's special collections.

All are available to view in the Library by request at the Research Help desk, or for group visits by appointment.


MICA-Mades Audiovisual Collection
The MICA-Mades Audiovisual Collection contains audio and visual materials that document artist lectures, poetry readings, exhibitions, and special events at MICA dating back to the 1940s. The collection is made up of over 700 VHS and Beta tapes, almost 800 casette tapes, and a dozen film reels. Many of these items have been digitized and are available for viewing/listening on Internet Archive.


Erotic Collection
The Erotic Collection is located in both open stacks (circulating) and in special collections (non-circulating). All items can be found in the Library catalog.

This collection is focused on the underground and alternative publications of sexual communities and demonstrates historic restrictive values of publication of erotic or sexually explicit materials. This collection began with a donation of gay male erotica, which currently makes up the majority of the collection. However, the goal is to collect broadly across sexualities and genders. The works range from the 1930s to the 2000s and are predominantly created by groups who were marginalized and persecuted during a time when subscription services to publications were necessary to build a safe community around sexual expression. Works include Tom of Finland, Alan Moore, several zines, artists' books, and photography. We are continually collecting materials for this collection.


Zine Collection
Our Zine collection is located on open shelving on the upper level of the library, and available for in-house use. Zines can be found in the Library catalog.

Zines are often described as self-published works, non-profit, limited printing, folded or simple stapled, and photocopied or offset, letterpressed, etc. We're committed to collecting works by MICA students, staff, and faculty, zines that reflect and encompass issues and artists of Baltimore City, and those that highlight marginalized groups and support the MICA curriculum. We are continually collecting materials for this collection.


Selected Materials from Special Collections

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter