Skip to main content

Film and Video Collection

This guide will help orient visitors with the Film and Video Collection at MICA's Decker Library, which consists of over 5,000 titles.

About the Collection

Maryland Institute College of Art's Decker Library has over 5,000 titles available to library patrons, a majority of which are available for check out. The titles are physically arranged in the library by title and are located on the first level of Decker Library in the Bunting Center at 1401 W. Mount Royal Avenue.

The collection is particularly strong in documentaries about artists or art and avant-garde and other art narrative films.

See also: Film and Video Research Guide

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, ebooks, periodicals, film and video collections (including streaming videos), Masters theses, artists' books, and much more. Note: This will take you to the library website.

Watching Films Online via Decker Library

Decker Library offers three streaming video databases for you to watch films online, on and off-campus. Also included are a couple links to other online streaming platforms.

Films On Demand @ MICA

Best for: films about art and architecture. Decker Library subscribes to Films On Demand's Art and Architecture Collection, which includes over 800 educational titles.

Kanopy @ MICA

Best for: documentaries, feature films, Criterion Collection. Kanopy offers a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. If off-campus, you'll have to create a login to watch films. Featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.

Alexander Street Press @ MICA

Best for: clips of art and architecture.  Decker Library subscribes to the Alexander Street Press Art & Architecture in Video collection, which contains over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context for critical analysis.


Other Ways to Watch Films Online

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive

This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Fandor Edu

Fandor, online streaming database, is now offering Fandor Edu. The program has been created in response to the increasing demand from professors to incorporate Fandor into their school curricula. Fandor edu will launch with a 50% discount offer on monthly subscriptions to students and educators at higher education institutions in the U.S. and Canada.

Sign Up for the New Titles Newsletter

For a monthly newsletter about new titles added to the Film and Video Collection, enter your email address below. You'll receive the most recent newsletter after signing up. 

powered by TinyLetter

Decker Library Hours

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter