Skip to main content

Zine Collection

Research Guide about Decker Library Zine Collection and Zines

About This Guide


Word Cloud of frequently used terms in the zine collection

About The Zine Collection

Welcome to the Decker Library Zine Collection. This guide is here to give information about zines and Decker Library Zine Collection.  There are sections for other Zine collections and resources. 

 

 

 

Decker Library Zine Collection Policy

The Zine collection at Decker Library is a collected group of self-published works.  Zines are often described as works that are self-published, DIY, non-profit, limited printing, folded or simple stapled, and photocopied (now includes offset, letterpress, etc.).  Decker Library’s implementation of collecting zines started in 2012.  With the onset of the Fall 2016 semester, the Zine collection will be firmly established with the first 100 zines cataloged and the creation of a dedicated space.  The Zine collection will be non-circulating and available when Decker Library is open.  Decker Library is committed to collecting zines from the MICA community (students, staff, and faculty) which will reflect the diverse population and their interests.  Furthermore, Decker Library will collect Zines that reflect and encompass issues of Baltimore city.  The Zine collection will be used to highlight marginalized groups and support curriculum, and hopefully be used in new and exciting ways. Decker Library is creating its own Zine “REKCED” to highlight the zine collection and library services. 

The zine collection policy centers around social justice issues, POC, feminism, artists, Baltimore City, LGBTQ+, sequential arts, and student work. 

Outline of collection

  • Baltimore

  • MICA

  • Women/Feminism

  • LGBTQIA

  • Body positivity

  • Fantasy/Fiction

  • Subjective “Quirky/Fun” & Humor

  • Political Activism & Social issues (BLM, Occupy, Classicism, etc.)

  • Artist community

  • Supports curriculum (especially Book Arts)

 

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter