Skip to main content

MFAST - Studio Art (Low-Residency MFA)

Film and Video Collection

Decker Library's Film and Video Collection consists of over 5,000 titles on DVD, a majority of which are available for check out. The collection is particularly strong in documentaries about artists and art and experimental films.

Catalog Search

Use the Decker Library catalog to find:

  • Books
  • Videos - both streaming and DVDs to check-out
  • eBooks
  • Journal articles
  • and many other resources!
  • SEARCH ANYTHING

Watching Films Online via Decker Library

Decker Library offers one streaming video database for you to watch films online, on and off-campus. Also included are links to several other online streaming platforms.


Alexander Street Press @ MICA

Best for: clips of art and architecture.  Decker Library subscribes to the Alexander Street Press Art & Architecture in Video collection, which contains over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context for critical analysis.


Other Ways to Watch Films Online

Kanopy Streaming Video

Best for: documentaries, feature films, Criterion Collection. Enoch Pratt Free Library offers Kanopy for holders of a library card. Kanopy offers a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more.

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive

This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Fandor Edu

Fandor, online streaming database, is now offering Fandor Edu. The program has been created in response to the increasing demand from professors to incorporate Fandor into their school curricula. Fandor edu will launch with a 50% discount offer on monthly subscriptions to students and educators at higher education institutions in the U.S. and Canada.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter