Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MFAST - Studio Art (Low-Residency MFA)

About this Guide

Here is a research guide for the Studio Art Low-Residency MFA (MFAST). Get in touch with Kathy Cowan (liaison librarian) with questions or to arrange one-on-one research consultation via phone, email, or video.

undefined
Image from Delivery of Color (2015) by Ashley Lohr, MFAST Thesis

Catalog Search

Use the Decker Library catalog to find:


  • Books
  • Videos
  • eBooks
  • Journal articles
  • and many other resources!
  • SEARCH ANYTHING

Basic Library and Citation Review

Information Literacy (video)
This video on Lynda.com gives an excellent overview of the research process in an art and design context. Sections include: Types of Resources | Search Strategies | Resource Evaluation | Ethical Use of Information | Citation


Chicago-Style Citation


Interlibrary Loan during Summer 2020
Decker Library's Interlibrary Loan form is here

  • Interlibrary loan is a quick way to receive:
    • Journal articles: request the article by providing the full citation
    • Book chapters: request the book and specify the portion needed. Ways to scope out the contents of specific books include: Find the title in Google Books, where the Table of Contents may be included in a preview; Find the book on Amazon where you can download a sample of the Kindle edition, including a Table of Contents.
  • These materials will be sent to you by email
  • We are not currently borrowing or lending physical books
  • We are not able to borrow eBooks on Interlibrary Loan
  • Contact our super Interlibrary Loan staff directly at ill@mica.edu

Evaluating Sources

Resource Evaluation (a section of the Information Literacy video) covers these topics in 20 minutes:
Beyond Google | The Web vs. Databases | Scholarly vs. Popular Publications | Criteria for Evaluating Information | Primary vs. Secondary Sources


Writing About Contemporary Art | Hardcopy or Online | Where to Find

  • Decker Library catalog includes books, circulating DVDs and streaming videos
  • Decker Library's subscription databases are a good starting point:
    • Art & Architecture Source -  Art writing back to 1929, much full text, scholarly and popular writing, eBooks
    • JSTOR - Journals from art and humanities journals and many other disciplines. All scholarly, all full text. Will not include the most recent 3-5 years.
    • National Newspapers - Includes New York Times, Washington Post, Baltimore Sun in full text, back to the late 20th century.
    • ... more here ...

Books on Art Writing

Decker Library Hours

Library staff are currently working remotely due to COVID-19. Take a look at our Current Operations page to learn more.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Decker on Facebook Decker on Instagram Decker on tumblr Decker on Twitter