Film and Video Research

This is a selection of film and video related journals and magazines available in print at Decker Library. Full-text versions of most of these titles are available online through our research databases.

American Cinematographer
Available in print or full-text online through Art & Architecture Source.

Black Camera
Available in print only.

Film Comment
Available in print or full-text online through Academic Search Premier.

Film Quarterly
Available in print or full-text online through JSTOR.

Grey Room
Available in print or full-text online through Academic Search Premier and JSTOR.

Sight and Sound
Available in print or full-text online through Art & Architecture Source.

Below are a selected few open access arts journals. To find more on the same topic as well as other topics, please take a look at Directory of Open Access Journals.

Senses of Cinema
"Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. We believe cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work; we also aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms. As an Australian-based journal, we have a special commitment to the regular, wide-ranging analysis and critique of Australian cinema, past and present. Senses of Cinema is primarily concerned with ideas about particular films or bodies of work, but also with the regimes (ideological, economic and so forth) under which films are produced and viewed, and with the more abstract theoretical and philosophical issues raised by film study."

MOVIE - A Journal of Film Criticism
"Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism is a refereed publication whose aim is to create a forum for the range of analysis, debate and discussion that only a journal devoted to a detailed film criticism can adequately provide. We are committed to publishing rigorous but accessible critical writing, at a variety of lengths, that is responsive to the detailed texture and artistry of film and television, old and new. We also welcome articles that illuminate concepts, analytical methods and questions in film aesthetics that are of significance to film criticism. The journal is published annually.

Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism is a joint venture between the Universities of Warwick, Reading, and Oxford."

Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media
Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited and published by staff, PhD and postdoctoral researchers in Film and Screen Media at University College Cork, Ireland.

Alphaville offers a dynamic international forum open to the discussion of all aspects of film and screen media history, theory and criticism through multiple research methodologies and perspectives. It cultivates inspiring, cutting-edge research, and seeks work that displays a clear engagement with current debates and with methodological issues.

The journal is open access to make a full contribution to international debates in film and screen studies and beyond, and considers articles, book reviews and festival, exhibition and conference reports. We are interested in the interfaces between cinema and all new media, and aim to utilise the online platform to its full capacity.

Alphaville is published twice a year, in Summer and Winter, with both themed and open issues. It currently only accepts submissions in response to specific calls for papers that are advertised via the journal website and subject lists.