Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film and Video Research

A guide to support research for the Filmmaking (MFA) and Film and Video (BFA) programs at MICA.

Digital Initiatives Librarian

Profile Photo
Chris Drolsum
Contact:
Decker Library
Bunting Center
410-225-2402

Questions? Contact Us!


Research Help
Decker Library librarians are here for your research needs
410-225-2273 | refer@mica.edu


General Information
The Access Services staff are here to help with your account, reserves, interlibrary loans, and general questions
410-225-2272 | circ@mica.edu

Archives icon
MICA Archives and Special Collections
Special Collections Librarian Kathy Cowan is available for any archives and special collections-related questions
410-225-2714 | kcowan@mica.edu

 

How to Cite Your Work

Guides on How To Cite Your Work
Whether you're writing a paper or creating a work of art, everyone needs to cite their work. Below are links to formatting and style guides. 

Academic Citation Resource Guide

This guide is a great place to start if you're unsure about which citation style to use.

APA Format and Citation Style

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences.

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Manual of Style is commonly used by those in literature, history, and the arts. Note: Please log in with your MICA username and password to access the entire Chicago Manual of Style 

MLA Formatting and Style Guide

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

About this Guide

Welcome to the Film and Video Research Guide! The purpose of this guide is to support Filmmaking graduate students, Film and Video undergraduate students, and anyone interested in film research. The Filmmaking and Film and Video liaison librarian is Chris Drolsum. Please feel free to reach out using the Email Me button to the left!

Berlin, Jofa-Film-Atelier in Johannisthal, 1920, German Federal Archives

Search the Decker Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, ebooks, periodicals, film and video collections (including streaming videos), Masters theses, artists' books, and much more. Note: This will take you to the library website.

Find More with WorldCat.org

WorldCat.org is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby. Find books, music, videos, audiobooks, research articles and more.

If you find materials held at another library, Decker Library could potentially request the item be given to us through interlibrary loan. The interlibrary loan service is done online, with most materials available in 1-2 weeks.

Core Research Databases - Find Articles

Core Research Databases - Find Articles
Below is an abbreviated list of research databases offered through Decker Library. These research databases offer articles, images, and data. To see more databases, take a look at the full list on our site. Your local public library card will grant you access to other databases as well.

Note: These databases are made available through Decker Library. You might be asked to login with your MICA username and password.

Decker Library Hours

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Decker on Facebook Decker on Instagram Decker on tumblr Decker on Twitter