Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Decolonizing Animation : Databases and Articles

Articles by and about BIPOC Animators

Samurai with Afros: Political and Cultural Connotations of African American Depictions in Japanese- Style Animation
Journal Title: Film Matters 
Author: Keevan Robertson
Link to Catalog: https://mica.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MICA_INST/602hks/cdi_crossref_primary_10_1386_fm_6_1_32_1


 

Toward an Indigenous Feminine Animation Aesthetic 
Journal Title: Studies in American Indian Literature  
Author: Chanette Romero
Link to Catalog: https://mica.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MICA_INST/602hks/cdi_proquest_journals_1900328745


 

Animated Representations of Blackness  
Journal Title: Journal of African American Studies   
Author: C. Richard King, Mary K. Bloodsworth Lugo, Carmen R. Lugo-Lugo
Link to Catalog: https://mica.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MICA_INST/1scdacs/cdi_gale_infotracacademiconefile_A361554480


 

Black and White: Race in Soviet Animation   
Journal Title: Chapter in Drawing the Iron Curtain   
Author: Maya Balakirsky Katz
Link to Catalog: https://mica.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MICA_INST/1scdacs/cdi_jstor_books_j_ctt1ch78z4_7


 

Blackness, Animation, and the Politics of Black Fatherhood in "The Cleveland Show"   
Journal Title: Journal of African American Studies 
Author: Derrais Carter
Link to Catalog: https://mica.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MICA_INST/1scdacs/cdi_gale_infotracacademiconefile_A361554487


 

Hello Sha-kitty-peare?: Shakespeares Cutified in Japanese Anime Imagination   
Journal Title: Journal for Early Modern Cultural Studies   
Author: Ryuta Minami
Link to Catalog: https://mica.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MICA_INST/1scdacs/cdi_crossref_primary_10_1353_jem_2016_0024


 

Databases

Academic Search Premier

  • Full-text articles and citations
  • All subjects
  • All time periods
  • Video content by Associated Press

Art & Architecture Source

  • Full-text articles and citations
  • Art, architecture, design, and related fields
  • All time periods

Artstor

Note: if you've never used Artstor before or haven't logged in on campus in the past 120 days, please email refer@mica.edu

  • Art, architecture, & design images
  • Mostly Western art content
  • All time periods
  • Content from museums, galleries, and private collections

eBook Collection

  • eBook Collection
  • More than 170,000 eBooks, covering a wide range of topics
  • University Presses and Publishers

JSTOR

  • Full-text access to hundreds of scholarly journals
  • E-book chapters
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Dates of coverage vary; the embargo for most journals is 3-5 years

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Decker on Facebook Decker on Instagram Decker on tumblr Decker on Twitter