Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern and Contemporary Art and Design: A Guide to Research Resources

This guide will help you navigate online and physical research resources for modern and contemporary art and design.

Web Resources for Further Research

Modern and Contemporary Art

Art 21

Videos and educational content about contemporary art.

Arts in Context

A searchable directory of modern to contemporary artists, links, contact info and gallery representation.

Artists Documentation Program

Interviews with contemporary artists.

Asia Art Archive

Includes a wide range of documentation, including the personal archives of significant artists, educators, and art professionals, key exhibitions and art spaces on contemporary art in Asia. Many collections are digitized.

Axis Contemporary UK art & craft

Includes lists of artists, writings, events in the UK.

Biennials & other regular art events

Tracks international biennial and triennial exhibitions.

Catalogues Raisonnés

A database of published catalogues raisonnés and one of catalogues in preparation

e-flux video & film

Includes conversations, lectures, and symposia at e-flux.

Getty Union List of Artists Names

This list includes 190,000 artists; gives the names of other bibliographic resources that will tell more about the artist

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

MoMA Exhibitions

Exhibitions from MoMA's founding in 1929 to the present are available online.

Rhizome Artbase 

Rhizome's archive of many older pieces of internet art, and screenshots of those which can no longer be displayed on modern computers.

UbuWeb

A pirate shadow library consisting of hundreds of thousands of freely downloadable avant-garde artifacts.

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Decker on Facebook Decker on Instagram Decker on tumblr Decker on Twitter