Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern and Contemporary Art and Design: A Guide to Research Resources

This guide will help you navigate online and physical research resources for modern and contemporary art and design.

Research Databases

The Find Articles and Media page on our website provides access to all the research databases MICA subscribes to. However, there are a number of specialized resources for finding articles related to art and design history.

Art and Design Resources

Art & Architecture Source

Citations, abstracts, and full-text coverage for over 780 publications on the subjects of art and art history, antiquities, archaeology, design, architecture, film, and other related subjects.

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art (1975-2007)

Index of articles that date between 1975 and 2007 covering Western art, architecture, and decorative arts.

JSTOR

Full text archive of all JSTOR content including scholarly humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Note: does NOT include the most current 3-5 years.

Fashion Resources

BERG Fashion Library

A resource for fashion students and researchers, including more than 13,000 color images, over 100 academic eBooks, museum directory, an exhibition archive, reference works, and teaching resources.

Online Scholarly Resources

Getty Publications Virtual Library

More than 300 books available virtually​ from Getty's backlist.

Met Publications: Read Online

There are more offerings that may or may not be accessible online through the Met Publications homepage.

Find Articles with Google Scholar

Google Scholar

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Integration with Decker Library

If you are logged into your MICA email, you will see results you have access to through our database subscriptions. These results are notes as "Available@Decker Library."

Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Decker on Facebook Decker on Instagram Decker on tumblr Decker on Twitter