Skip to main content

Beyoncé's 'Lemonade' and Information Resources

This guide supports further research into Beyoncé's literary, film, and history references in her visual album 'Lemonade.'

Styling

 

Lemonade Style

From Beyonce's Lemonade
Image: From "Lemonade," by Beyoncé, Parkwood Entertainment.

 

Articles about the clothing and hair styles in Lemonade:

Beyoncé's Lemonade: Every Single Look by Kenzie Bryant. Racked, April 23, 2016.

Every Major Style Moment from the 11 Stages of Beyoncé's Lemonade in GIFs People, April 25, 2016.

Beyoncé’s Stylist on Her Boss’s Inspiration Boards, Trust and That Yeezy Two-Piece by Joanna Nikas. The New York Times, April 26, 2016.

For Fashion, Beyoncé's 'Lemonade' Is the Anti-Coachella by Vanessa Friedman. The New York Times, April 25, 2016.


Fashion-Related Databases

Fashion Related Databases Available Through Decker Library

ART SOURCE
Covers a broad range of art and architecture subjects, with 600+ full-text journals, 220+ full-text books, and 63,0000+ images.
Includes all content from Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective.

BERG FASHION LIBRARY
Searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.

DESIGN AND APPLIED ARTS INDEX
Indexes and abstracts 500+ design and craft journals published 1973-present, plus data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.

JSTOR
Full-text for 530+ scholarly journals.
Arts and Sciences III Collection: History of art and architecture, religion, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, and performing arts. Arts and Sciences IV Collection: Education, psychology, business, law, and public policy and administration. Arts and Sciences V Collection: Art and art history, philosophy, history, classics, religion, and language and literature. Includes The Journal of the Walters Art Gallery and The Journal of the Walters Art Museum. Arts and Sciences XI Collection: Classical studies, architecture and architectural history, music, archaeology, performing arts, film studies, and linguistics. Early Journal Content: JSTOR content published prior to 1923 in the U.S.A. and prior to 1870 elsewhere. Includes arts and humanities, economics and politics, mathematics and other sciences -- ~500,000 articles from 200+ journals.

MATERIAL CONNEXION

This library of advanced, innovative and sustainable materials and processes is a resource for all studio and design disciplines: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Interior Design, Industrial Design and Packaging, Fashion, Textiles, and more.

An optional free Personal Account is available, offering advanced features, e.g, tagging and saving materials you have researched. Use this link from a computer on-campus to create a personal account; a valid mica.edu email address must be used as a username.


Musical collaborators

Tweet by Father John Misty about collaborating on Beyonce's Lemonade

Articles on musical collaborators on 'Lemonade':

Father John Misty, Ezra Koenig discuss their contributions to Beyoncé's Lemonade by Michelle Geslani. COS, April 25, 2016.

6 Indie Artist Collaborations On Beyoncé's 'Lemonade' by Dave Setton. Indie88, April 27, 2016.

Here Are The Full Album Credits For Beyoncé's Lemonade by Ducan Cooper and Myles Tanzer. Fader, April 23, 2016.

Beyonce Lemonade: The unlikely artists to feature on the singer's new album by Jacob Stolworthy. Independent, April 25, 2016.

From the Beyonce Lemonade: The unlikely artists to feature on the singer's new album:

For example, the album's second track "Hold Up" - which memorably samples "Maps" by Yeah Yeah Yeahs - was collectively (and rather uniquely) co-written by Father John Misty, Diplo, Soulja Boy and Vampire Weekend frontman Ezra Koening.


 

Directors

From Beyonce's Lemonade, via giphy
Image: From "Lemonade," by Beyoncé, via Giphy.com
 

Articles on 'Lemonade' Directors:

Who Directed 'Lemonade'? The 7 Filmmakers Behind Beyoncé's Visual Album by David Ehrlich. Indiewire, April 24, 2016. 


Selected Lemonade credits for further research:

Directors
Kahlil Joeseph / Beyoncé Knowles Carter / Melina Matsoukas / Todd Tourso / Dikayl Rimmasch / Jonas Åkerlund / Mark Romanek

Executive Producers
Beyoncé Knowles Carter / Todd Tourso / Erinn Williams / Melissa Vargas / Steve Pamon / Ed Burke

Cinematographers
Chayse Irvin / Khalik Allah / Pär Ekberg / Santiago Gonzalez / Malik Sayeed / Dikayl Rimmasch / Reed Morano

Score
Melo-X

Sound Design and Mix
Eric Hoffman

Styling
Marni Senofonte

Glam
Hair: Kim Kimble / Make Up: Sir John Barnett / Nails: Lisa Logan

Production Designers
Hannah Beachler / Ethan Tobman / Tom Foden / Jason Hougaard / JC Molina

Choreography
Chris Grant / Jaquel Knight / Anthony Burrell / Dana Foglia / Michaela Deprince / Ashley Everett



Decker Library at the Maryland Institute College of Art | Location: 1401 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217 | Mailing: 1300 W. Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore, MD 21217

Research Help: 410-225-2273 / refer@mica.edu | General Questions: 410-225-2272 / circ@mica.edu

Like Us On Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Sign Up For Our Newsletter Follow Our tumblr Follow Us On Twitter