LibGuides: Information Visualization Research: Find Articles

Core Research Databases - Find Articles

Core Research Databases - Find Articles
Below is an abbreviated list of research databases offered through Decker Library. These research databases offer articles, images, and data. To see more databases, take a look at the full list on our site. Your local public library card will grant you access to other databases as well.

Note: These databases are made available through Decker Library. You might be asked to login with your MICA username and password.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- Full-text articles and citations
- Art, architecture, design, and related fields
- All time periods
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.

Content Includes:
- More than 780 full-text journals
- Nearly 220 full-text books
- Detailed indexing and abstracts for many leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications
- A collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources
- Strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch
- Art reproduction records
- Coverage dating back to 1914
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Art, architecture, & design images
- Mostly Western art content
- All time periods
- Content from museums, galleries, and private collections
Artstor contains nearly two million digital images of works of art from many time periods and cultures.

It includes an Image Gallery and a growing survey of major works of art, as well as specialized image collections such as The Illustrated Bartsch and the Digital Design Collection from the Museum of Modern Art's Department of Architecture and Design.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Full-text access to hundreds of scholarly journals
- E-book chapters
- Humanities and Social Sciences
- Dates of coverage vary; the embargo for most journals is 3-5 years
- Art, architecture, & design images
- Mostly Western art content
- All time periods
- Content from museums, galleries, and private collections
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. Subjects cover history of art and architecture, religion, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, education, psychology, business, law, public policy administration, philosophy, classics, classical studies, archaeology, and linguistics. It also contains nearly two million digital images of works of art from many time periods and cultures that were formerly housed on ARTSTOR

Journals: Full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available.

Books: 60,000 DRM-free ebooks from scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR. The collection includes both backlist and frontlist titles, and there are no limitations on the number of uses or downloads.

Primary Sources: More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item.

Images: 2 million rights-cleared images from around the world, now discoverable on JSTOR's platform
National Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers offers full text online for the following titles:
The Baltimore Sun (1990 - Current)
Christian Science Monitor (1998 - Current)
New York Times (1980 - Current)
Wall Street Journal (1984 - Current)
The Washington Post (1996 - Current)

Open Access Journals

Finding Open Access Articles

Open Access (OA) journals are scholarly publications that are available with fee or subscription requirement. (For more information, see the About Articles section on this page.)

Search all DOAJ (journals and articles)

DOAJ contains over 9,000 OA journals and ove 2 million articles. Use DOAJ to find individual articles or journals. Try the keyword search term "information visualization" to get started.

Find Articles with Google Scholar

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Integration with Decker Library

If you are logged into your MICA email, you will see results you have access to through our database subscriptions. These results are notes as "Available@Decker Library."

Questions? Contact Us!

Research Help
Decker Library librarians are here for your research needs
410-225-2273 | refer@mica.edu

General Information
The Access Services staff are here to help with your account, reserves, interlibrary loans, and general questions
410-225-2272 | circ@mica.edu

MICA Archives and Special Collections
Direct inquiries to the Research Help Desk.
410-225-2273 | refer@mica.edu