Critical Studies

Core Research Databases
Below is an abbreviated list of research databases offered through Decker Library. These research databases offer articles, images, and data. To see more databases, take a look at the full list on our site. Your local public library card will grant you access to other databases as well.

Note: For Decker Library databases, you might be asked to login with your MICA username and password.

Search Art Source database

Art Source covers a broad range of art and architecture subjects, with 600+ full-text journals, 220+ full-text books, and 63,0000+ images. Includes all content from Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective.

Search Artstor image database

Artstor contains nearly one million digital images of works of art from many time periods and cultures. Here you'll find images of architecture, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. New to Artstor? Register on campus first, after which you'll be able to access this database anywhere off campus - as long as you log in on campus every 120 days. Questions? Contact us for help.

Search JSTOR database

JSTOR full-text contains articles from over 530 scholarly journals. Subjects cover history of art and architecture, religion, language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, education, psychology, business, law, public policy administration, philosophy, classics, classical studies, archaeology, and linguistics.

Search National Newspapers database

National Newspapers offers full text online for the following titles:

• The Baltimore Sun (1990 - Current)
• Christian Science Monitor (1998 - Current)
• New York Times (1980 - Current)
• Wall Street Journal (1984 - Current)
• The Washington Post (1987 - Current)

Dip into these books from Decker Library to start. 

For questions about interlibrary loan, contact ill@mica.edu. To place an ILL request, use one of the forms below.