LibGuides: Critical Studies: Periodicals and Journals

Periodicals and Journals

This is just a sample of the many journals to which we subscribe.

The print journals can be found over in the reference area as well as some of the current issues are located on the first floor across from the circulation desk.

A-Z Publication Finder: lists Full-Text availability for Journals and Periodicals

Here is a list of electronic journals related to Critical Studies: electronic journal list

Periodicals and Journals

Journal for Artistic Research
The Journal for Artistic Research (JAR) is an inter-national, online, Open Access and peer-reviewed journal for the identification, publication and dissemination of artistic research and its methodologies, from all arts disciplines. With the aim of displaying practice in a manner that respects artists' modes of presentation, JAR abandons the traditional journal article format and offers its contributors a dynamic online canvas where text can be woven together with image, audio and video. These research documents called ‘expositions’ provide a unique reading experience while fulfilling the expectations of scholarly dissemination. The Journal is underpinned by the Research Catalogue (RC) a searchable, documentary database of artistic research. Anyone can compose an exposition and add it to the RC using the online editor and suitable expositions can be submitted to the editorial board for peer-review and publication in JAR. Read more about submissions or start composing expositions straight away by registering for an account, which is free of charge. JAR is published by the Society for Artistic Research (SAR).

The Journal of aesthetics and art criticism
Established in 1942 by the American Society for Aesthetics, The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism publishes current research articles, special issues, and timely book reviews in aesthetics and the arts. The term "aesthetics," in this connection, is understood to include all studies of the arts and related types of experience from a philosophical, scientific, or other theoretical standpoint.
N. paradoxa.
Nka : journal of contemporary African art
PAJ : a journal of performance and art
Women's Art Journal
Representing the interests of women and art worldwide, Woman’s Art Journal wants to serve as a forum for re-examining feminist concerns of the women’s art movement. We invite your submissions. Whether your focus is on antiquity or the present day, a woman artist or a burning issue, a new insight or a variation on a familiar theme, your topic will be considered , and all voices are welcomed. We also invite reviewers for new books and exhibition catalogs.

Education Journals from Decker Library

NAEA news. National Art Education Association
National Art Education Association news
Newsletter
National Art Education Association
Studies in art education
Published by the National Art Education Association
Visual arts research
Review of research in visual arts education
School arts
https://www.davisart.com
The Journal of Social Theory in Art Education
Caucus on Social Theory & Art Education (U.S.)
National Art Education Association.
Arts and learning research
American Educational Research Association. Arts and Learning Special Interest Group.

Open Access Journals

Some journals are freely on the web without a subscription. Many open access journal titles can be found by searching the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Featured Journals and Magazines

Aesthetica

Aperture

Contact Sheet

Conveyor

Architecture: the AIA Journal

Architecture: the AIA Journal
American Institute of Architects publication. Available at Decker Library
aia.org
Journal Website

Camera Obscura: feminism, culture, and media studies.

Camera Obscura:feminism, culture, and media studies.
Decker Library Holdings
Camera Obscura Publisher Site
Publisher website for this title.
Full-Text Articles 5/97-Current(12 month delay)
Full-text articles from Camera Obscura in the Academic Search Premier database 5/97 to now with a 12-month delay.
Search for Articles
Search for articles from Camera Obscura in the Academic Search Premier database.

The Kenyon Review

The Kenyon Review
Decker Library Holdings
www.kenyonreview.org
Website of the editor of this journal.